Download the Abstract (PDF -217KB)

Technology Summary

Neisseria meningitidis consists of 13 serogroups that cause meningococcal disease. The serogroups A, B, C, W, X, and Y cause the most disease worldwide and the serogroups B, C, and Y cause the most disease in the United States. FDA researchers have isolated multiple strains of neisseria meningitidis as potential candidates for vaccine development including the X serotype.

  • Neisseria meningitidis X strain M8210 (E-2013-017)
  • Neisseria meningitidis Y strain S1975 (E-2013-018)
  • Neisseria meningitidis A strain M1027 (E-2013-019)
  • Neisseria meningitidis C strain C11 (E-2013-020)
  • Neisseria meningitidis W-135 strain S877 (E-2013-021)
Potential Commercial Applications Competitive Advantages
  • Research tool
  • Vaccine and diagnostic development
  • Neisseria meningitidis serogroup X characterization

Development Stage: Research Materials
Inventors: Willie Vann, Che-Hung Lee

  • Muindi, KM., et. al. Characterization of the meningococcal serogroup X capsule N-acetylglucosamine-1-phosphotransferase. Glycobiology. 2014 Feb;24(2):139-49. PMID: 24134880
  • Gudlavalleti, SK., et. al. Comparison of Neisseria meningitidis serogroup W135 polysaccharide-tetanus toxoid conjugate vaccines made by periodate activation of O-acetylated, non-O-acetylated and chemically de-O-acetylated polysaccharide. Vaccine. 2007 Nov 14;25(46):7972-80.PMID: 17936445

Product Area: Research materials, vaccine, diagnostic
FDA Reference No: E-2013-017, E-2013-018, E-2013-019, E-2013-020, E-2013-021

Licensing Contact:
Ken Miliburne, J.D.
FDA Technology Transfer Program
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 240-402-2245